The USGA and R&A announced today that the rule that penalizes players when ball movement can be detected only by enhanced technology according to the Global Post. This is the same rule that hit Tiger Woods in September during the BMW Championship in Chicago when the ball moved when he was moving debris out of the way. However, it was a PGA Tour videographer that spotted the movement of the ball and reported it to officials and that rule is now broken. Was Woods a key reason why the rule was taken out? What would have happened if it was a player that wasn’t that big of a name? Would the rule still be there? It’s very possible as the small name players never get much attention and not to mention that this isn’t any big name player we’re talking about. It’s Tiger Woods and he’s made a name for himself where everything will go his way. The rule however should have gotten attention anyway regardless of who it was but it is what it is and since it was Tiger, that’s the only reason why it’s getting the attention it’s getting and that’s why it was changed.
— Golfweek Magazine (@GolfweekMag) November 19, 2013
So what do you guys think of the rule change? Like it? Dislike it? Let me know in the comments section! Also, please subscribe if you enjoy the GP Golf Report and also follow me on Twitter @ChiGolfRadio!
Colin GP Mieczkowski
Latest posts by Colin GP Mieczkowski (see all)
- WATCH: Justin Thomas sinks eagle for 59 at Sony Open - 13 January, 2017
- Justin Thomas’ highlights getting broadcast by Gus Johnson is hysterical - 23 December, 2016
- WATCH: Golfer tries to hit golf ball off frozen pond, learns hard way - 21 December, 2016